Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

Harrisburg | Camp Hill Criminal Driving Under the Influence DUI/DWI Lawyers

If you were arrested or charged with drunk driving or DUI in or around Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, it is important that you immediately contact an experienced attorney to answer your questions and help you navigate the criminal justice system.

The Various Penalties for DUI Convictions Vary Depending on Factors

Many factors may affect the penalties for DUI including:

  • Blood Alcohol Content or BAC
  • Any prior DUI convictions
  • Driving with a suspended license
  • Underage drinking

Based upon these factors, penalties can include:

  • Fines
  • Jail
  • Driver’s license suspension or revocation
  • Alcohol education classes

Three (3) Tiers of DUI

In Pennsylvania, there are three tiers of DUI. These are based on the blood alcohol content (BAC).

  • General Impairment – Pennsylvania law states that anyone with blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent and under 0.10 percent is considered intoxicated.
  • High Rate of Alcohol – In Pennsylvania, an individual is considered to be intoxicated with a high rate of alcohol when the BAC is at least 0.10 percent and under 0.16 percent.
  • Highest Rate of Alcohol – The highest rate of alcohol is any BAC over 0.16 percent or higher. This is considered to be extreme DUI and the penalties for Highest Rate of Alcohol are more severe.

Review

  • Tier 1 – BAC of .08 percent to .099 percent (General Impairment)
  • Tier 2 – BAC of .1 percent to .159 percent (High Rate)
  • Tier 3 – BAC of .16 percent and greater (Highest Rate)

The test must be taken within two hours of having driven or operated a motor vehicle.

DUI Penalties

In Pennsylvania, the severity of punishment for a conviction can generally be calculated by determining the blood alcohol content (BAC) discussed above and how many prior DUI convictions an individual has in the previous ten (10) years.

1st Conviction of  DUI 2nd Conviction of DUI 3rd Conviction of DUI
0.08% – 0.099%

6 Months in Probation

$300 Fine

Alcohol/Highway Safety School

Drug and Alcohol Treatment

No License Suspension

0.08% – 0.099%

5 Days – 6 Months in Jail

$300 – $2500 fine

Alcohol/Highway Safety School

Drug and Alcohol Treatment

12 Month License Suspension and will require a 1-year Ignition Interlock

0.08% – 0.099%

10 Days – 2 Years in Jail

$500 – $5000 Fine

Drug and Alcohol Treatment

12 Month License Suspension and will require a 1-year Ignition Interlock

 

0.10% – 0.159%

2 Days to 6 Months Jail

$500-$5000 Fine

Alcohol/Highway Safety School

Drug and Alcohol Treatment

12 Month License Suspension and will require a 1-year Ignition Interlock

0.10% – 0.159%

30 Days to 6 Months in Jail

$750 – $5000 Fine

Alcohol/Highway Safety School

Drug and Alcohol Treatment

12 Month License Suspension and will require a 1-year Ignition Interlock

0.10% – 0.159%

90 Days – 5 Years in Jail

$1500 – $10,000 Fine

Drug and Alcohol Treatment

18 Month License Suspension and will require a 1-year Ignition Interlock

0.16% and higher

3 Days – 6 Months Jail

$1000 – $5000 Fine

Alcohol/Highway Safety School

Drug and Alcohol Treatment

12 Month License Suspension and will require a 1-year Ignition Interlock

0.16% and higher

90 Days – 5 Years Jail

$ 1500 Fine

Alcohol/Highway Safety School

Drug and Alcohol Treatment

18 Month License Suspension and will require a 1-year Ignition Interlock

0.16% and higher

1 year – 5 years Jail

$2500 minimum Fine

Drug and Alcohol Treatment

18 Month License Suspension and will require a 1-year Ignition Interlock

DUI for a Minor

Minors in Pennsylvania for DUI purposes are those who are under 21 years of age, the legal drinking age. Pennsylvania is considered a No Tolerance state and therefore a minor can be charged with DUI if any amount of alcohol (i.e. anything greater than 0.00% BAC) is found in the system. Harsher penalties can be applied when a minor is found to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of  0.02 percent or higher. A minor can have a driver’s license suspended for up to three months and may have fines imposed. When a minor has been found to be driving with a BAC higher than 0.02 percent, additional penalties will apply. It is important to note that a minor can be charged with DUI when any amount of alcohol is present.

Free Consultation!

If you were charged with a DUI, you must  act now to protect your rights and evaluate your options. Call now, Email us, or submit your information in our Contact Us form to schedule a free consultation. The Harrisburg DUI Lawyers at The Law Offices of Ethan K. Stone, LLC will listen to your side of the story. We will give you a thorough, truthful analysis of your options.

We represent clients throughout Central Pennsylvania, including Harrisburg, Camp Hill, Mechanicsburg, Lemoyne, Carlisle, Hershey, York, Lancaster, Lebanon and Perry and Juniata Counties.

Don’t let this circumstance derail your life. Call us at (717) 220-3LAW (3529), email us HERE, or submit your information in our Contact Us form to the right to speak with an attorney and schedule a FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION!